Tags

, , ,

Tuna Time developed unintentionally but has had immense unanticipated value. This is the time every night when I take out bowls with a spoonful of tuna for each cat.

It started out as a way to get medication into one cat. I couldn’t very well take tuna out for just one cat and leave everyone else out, and try to keep them out of the dish. So everybody got a spoonful.

When I first realized it was an established expected thing, I regretted it. I felt obligated to keep it up, even though I wanted to taper it off to lighten my load. But now, it’s such a good thing.

It has established a schedule. A time when I know they will all come up so I can medicate any cat I need to, even the ones that don’t want to be touched. I get a headcount each night. And if anyone is having an issue, like loss of apetite, I can see it right away if they don’t want their tuna.

It has also helped me get close to the ones who wouldn’t get close to me before. Bonzai loves being pet now and follows me around the yard. She wouldn’t let me get within a few feet of her before tuna time. Stash tolerates some petting now while she eats, and she sniffs my hand when she thinks I’m not looking. I’ve even managed to touch Iris, my shyest kitty.

If you are caring for feral cats, whether you are trying to tame them or just want to establish a good way to provide medications, Tuna Time might work for you too.

Bonzai

Bonzai

